IPL 2022 RCB: Team Squad, Strength, Weakness, and Schedule

IPL 2022 RCB

There hasn’t been an IPL title for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team since the league was founded. Even though the Bengaluru franchise has featured some major names throughout the years, they have not achieved success in the singles category with Virat Kohli at the helm. IPL 2022, on the other hand, will be an entirely different experience, with the new signing du Plessis stepping over as captaincy after Virat Kohli left his captaincy last season. Let’s take a look at their team’s strengths and weaknesses this season.

IPL 2022: Royal Challengers Bangalore squad

Royal Challengers Bangalore squad

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Siraj, Faf du Plessis(Captain), Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudessai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Luvnith Sisodia, David Willey.

RCB IPL 2022: Match Schedule

RCB IPL 2022: Match Schedule
  • March 27:  RCB vs PBKS, 7:30 PM at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.
  • March 30:  RCB vs KKR, 7:30 PM at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.
  • April 5: RR vs RCB, 7:30 PM at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 
  • April 9:  RCB vs MI, 7:30 PM at  MCA Stadium, Pune
  • April 12: CSK vs RCB, 7:30 PM at DY Patil Stadium
  • April 16: DC vs RCB, 7:30 PM at Wankhede Stadium 
  • April 19: LSG vs RCB, 7:30 PM at  DY Patil Stadium  
  • April 23: RCB vs SRH, 7:30 PM at Brabourne Stadium  
  • April 26: RCB vs RR, 7:30 PM at MCA Stadium, Pune
  • April 30: RCB vs GT, 3:30 PM at Brabourne Stadium
  • May 4: Rvs CSK, 7:30 PM  at MCA Stadium, Pune
  • May 8: RCB vs SRH, 3:30 PM at Wankhede Stadium
  • May 13: RCB vs PBKS, 7:30 PM at Brabourne – CCI 
  • May 19: Gujrat Titans vs RCB, 7:30 PM at Wankhede Stadium

RCB Team strengths: He will open the innings for the team and his ability to score runs quickly will be beneficial during this season. Along with Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Dinesh Karthik will provide steadiness to the batting order, since both are able to play huge knocks in the later parts of an inning. IPL 2021 Purple Cap holder Harshal Patel and Mohammad Siraj will lead the bowler’s attack. While Siraj can grab wickets with the new ball, Harshal Patel was considered the death bowler in the last season. As RCB lost Yuzvendra Chahal in the IPL auction, the RCB brought back Wanindu Hasaranga, a player from Sri Lanka. Adding Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood to the team is a great move, as he proved last season that he is an excellent choice.

RCB weakness: In terms of weaknesses, other than Hasaranga, the spin unit lacks a true wicket-taker. With Chahal missing, the Sri Lankan all-rounder would have to carry the burden of picking wickets, since Karn Sharma and Shahbaz Ahmad are still not up to the task.